Life here is starting to get weird

I haven’t seen much of the Professor for a long time. I had in fact wondered whether Death might have collected him but surely, if Death had met the Professor, he’d have said something. More than likely he’d have said quite a lot, since the Professor would be very unlikely to go quietly.

Even so, it was with a mixture of surprise and relief when I answered the peal of the doorbell to find the Professor on my doorstep.

“New taxi driver in town, I see,” he said as he passed me into the hallway. “This one appears to be able to stop without crashing into something.”

“Really?” I closed the door. “I haven’t been in town for some time.” I made a mental note to visit soon. They must be missing me.

As we passed Caligula’s room, Elizabeth was closing the door gently. “Shh,” she said. “The little cutie is asleep.”

I’ve heard Caligula called many things by many people, but ‘cutie’ is a new one.

“Hi Liz.” Romulus didn’t even pause. He kept heading for the living room. “How did you end up here?”

Elizabeth followed him. “Oh, I met this sweet little Doctor in town and moved in to look after his son.”

I put both hands over my face and stood in the hall. From the living room came the sound of whisky pouring and the casual chatter of old friends.

First Death, and now the Professor. Both know this woman and neither seemed surprised to find her here.

I really must investigate this babysitter.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Life here is starting to get weird

  1. “Life here is starting to get weird”

    Having only recently stumbled upon this place, would it be impertinent to question the headline?

    From the few episodes I’ve read, I have to ask: “Was it ever ‘normal’?”

    In the context of the above, surely “Life here is starting to get weirder” is more accurate. 😜

  2. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Mascara – Library of Libraries

Leave a Reply

